Posted 11/11/2013 12:00:00 AM







Tommy - The Who’s defining, breakthrough concept album – a full-blown rock opera about a deaf, dumb and blind boy that launched the band to international superstardom – is to be released in a Deluxe Edition on November 11.


Originally released in May 1969, The Who were at a career crossroads, they were known mainly as a singles band but this project launched them as a serious “album band” and has now sold over 20 million copies as well as regularly turning up in lists of the most influential albums of all time.


Coming after The Who Sell Out in 1967, Tommy marked a complete change in style with Pete Townshend's lengthy conceptual narrative bringing exciting new opportunities to rock music. Tommy was and remains an ambitious, complex and controversial work.


This new Deluxe remastered version of the album comes with a full, live performance of “Tommy” from 1969 taken from tapes that infamously Townshend asked the band’s sound engineer to burn!


Eighteen of the previously unheard and thought to be long lost live tracks are taken from a live show at the Capital Theatre in Ottawa, Canada, on October 15, 1969. Three others, “I’m Free,” “Tommy’s Holiday Camp” and “We’re Not Gonna Take It” were lost due to tape reels being changed during the show, so they are taken from later shows of the same era. As discussed at length in Pete Townshend’s autobiography, the tapes were all supposed to be destroyed but were kept by longtime Who sound man Bob Pridden, despite Pete’s instructions.






Deluxe Edition



Disc 1 – The original album (2013 re-master)

Digitally remastered in HD



Disc 2 – The live ‘bootleg’ album

Features 21 previously unreleased tracks from various live shows from 1969.



Disc 1 The original album (2013 re-master)


  1. Overture                                                          5.20
  2. It’s A Boy                                                         0.38
  3. 1921                                                                2.49
  4. Amazing Journey                                            5.04
  5. Sparks                                                             2.05
  6. The Hawker (Eyesight To The Blind)             2.13
  7. Christmas                                                        4.34
  8. Cousin Kevin                                                   4.05
  9. The Acid Queen                                              3.34
  10. Underture                                                        10.01
  11. Do You Think It’s Alright?                               0.24
  12. Fiddle About                                                    1.29
  13. Pinball Wizard                                                 3.01
  14. There’s A Doctor                                             0.23
  15. Go To The Mirror!                                           3.47   
  16. Tommy Can You Hear Me?                           1.35
  17. Smash The Mirror                                           1.34
  18. Sensation                                                        2.25
  19. Miracle Cure                                                   0.12
  20. Sally Simpson                                                 4.10
  21. I’m Free                                                           2.39
  22. Welcome                                                         4.32
  23. Tommy’s Holiday Camp                                 0.57
  24. We’re Not Gonna Take It                                7.06


Disc 2 Live Bootleg 


  1. Overture (including Introduction)                   7.00 
  2. It's A Boy                                                        0.39
  3. 1921                                                               2.28
  4. Amazing Journey                                           5.07
  5. Sparks                                                            2.49
  6. The Hawker (Eyesight To The Blind)            1.54
  7. Christmas                                                       3.11
  8. The Acid Queen                                             3.30
  9. Pinball Wizard                                                2.47
  10. Do You Think It's Alright?                              0.21
  11. Fiddle About                                                   1.12
  12. Tommy Can You Hear Me?                          0.55
  13. There's A Doctor                                            0.24
  14. Go To The Mirror!                                          3.22
  15. Smash The Mirror                                          1.10 
  16. Miracle Cure                                                  0.12
  17. Sally Simpson                                                4.01
  18. I’m Free                                                          2.12
  19. Tommy’s Holiday Camp                                0.48
  20. We’re Not Gonna Take It                               3.28
  21. See Me, Feel Me / Listening To You             7.51



Posted By: Rabbi  

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.

MMR Videos:

The requested content is currently unavailable. Please try again later.

Upcoming MMR Events

Upcoming Events

Date Event Location  
5/21 - 5/25 Memorial Day One in a Thousand Weekend 2015 On the Air
5/30 MMR Rocks Buckcherry at XFINITY Live! XFINITY LIVE! 1100 Pattison Ave., Philadelphia, PA
6/7 Philadelphia International Cycling Classic Main St. & Levering St., Manayunk, PA
6/14 MMR Rocks The American Cancer Society Bike-a-thon The Ben Franklin Bridge to Atlantic City, NJ
6/17 MMR Rocks Everclear - Free Concert XFINITY Live! Philadelphia
6/18 Yards Brews Cruise: Saison Greetings! with Jacky Bam Bam On the Delaware River aboard The Spirit Of Philadelphia
6/20 WMMR's I Bleed for Preston & Steve American Red Cross Blood Drive Greater Philadelphia Expo Center in Oaks, PA