Van Halen Releases “Van Halen”– February 10, 1978
Posted 2/10/2013 12:00:00 AM

Van Halen Releases “Van Halen”– February 10, 1978


Conversation Starters

  • Van Halen’s debut album was released 35 years ago today! What’s the best song off the album?
  • Van Halen’s very first album came out today in 1978! Which debut album would you consider the greatest?
  • Back in ’78, Van Halen released their very first album! Which of their LPs is your absolute favorite?

Fast Facts

  • US Release Date: February 10, 1978 via Warner Bros. Records
  • Produced by: Ted Templeman
  • The album took three weeks and $40,000 to produce
  • Production had to be rushed on the album because guitarist Eddie Van Halen accidently let the band Angel hear their cover of The Kinks’ “You Really Got Me” before it was released and both bands rushed to put out the song
  • 25 songs in total were considered for the album
  • The noise at the beginning of “Runnin’ With The Devil” is a collection of car horns which included horns from Alex Van Halen’s Opel and Eddie Van Halen’s Volvo
  • On the demo version of “You Really Got Me” David Lee Roth missed his entrance on the second verse so the band had to cover for him
  • Eddie felt that “Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love” was his “lamest” song and reportedly it took him six months to work up the courage to bring it to the rest of the band
  • Rapper Tone Loc famously sampled Eddie’s guitar riff on “Jamie’s Cryin’” for his 1989 hit “Wild Thing”
  • “Jamie’s Cryin’” is the only song off the album to be written in the studio and only took about 20 minutes to write
  • The album appears as #415 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time


  • The album peaked at #19 on the Billboard charts
  • “Runnin’ With The Devil” peaked at #84 and “You Really Got Me” peaked at #36 on the Billboard Hot 100


  • The album was certified 10X Multi-Platinum in 1996

Track Listing

  1. Runnin’ With The Devil
  2. Eruption
  3. You Really Got Me
  4. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
  5. I’m The One
  6. Jamie’s Cryin’
  7. Atomic Punk
  8. Feel Your Love Tonight
  9. Little Dreamer
  10. Ice Cream Man
  11. On Fire

Hit Singles

  • “Runnin’ With The Devil”
  • “You Really Got Me”
  • “Jamie’s Cryin’”
  • “Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love”
  • “Eruption”




Read more at Ultimate Classic Rock

Posted By: Rabbi  

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.

MMR Videos:


It was announced this week that KORN will join Avenged Sevenfold, Trivium, Asking Alexandria plus a whole slew of others on this year's Mayhem Fest tour. Sara and Rabbi talked with Korn frontman Jonathan Davis about being a part of the annual festival once again, writing with Brian "Head" Welch in the studio after his long absence from the band, their latest album The Paradigm Shift and the video for the song "Spike In My Veins" (below), Jonathan's custom "Bitch" mic stand, musical influences, and more... Stream the chat now and get your tickets for Mayhem HERE. We'll see ya at the SBC on Friday August 1st!


Kenny Wayne Shepherd stopped by our studios with Noah Hunt before their sold out show at the Keswick Theatre with the Experience Hendrix Tour. We hear they'll be back in town by the summertime... Listen to our chat to find out more about that, plus the new KWS album on the horizon, and how Jimi Hendrix influenced Kenny as a young blues guitarist.


PS: Check out a video clip of the performance HERE and the photo album on Facebook HERE

Today, David Florig, the Executive Director of WePac was in to discuss the library situation in the Philadelphia School System. Right now there are only 12 state paid libraries open at elementary schools in Philly, 28 over all. There are 150 schools in Philly. WePac uses volunteers and money to open the libraries in the schools. Get more information at their website. Thank you so much for listening,




Upcoming MMR Events

Upcoming Events

Date Event Location  
3/31 - 4/18 WMMR's Grand Text Lotto- giving away $1,000 three times a day $1,000 Cash Contest
4/17 Flyers Playoff Pep Rally One Bala Plaza parking lot (Enter lot at Decker Blvd., & St. Asaph's Rd.)
5/21 Vertex Fitness PUMPED Charity Event, with Steve Morrison Vertex Fitness, 931 W. Lancaster Ave., Bryn Mawr, PA
6/21 WMMR's I Bleed for Preston & Steve American Red Cross Blood Drive Greater Philadelphia Expo Center in Oaks, PA
7/13 MMR Rocks The American Cancer Society Bike-a-thon The Ben Franklin Bridge to Buena Vista Camping Park in Buena Vista, NJ 6abc - Philly Sports 6abc - Philly Weather