Music News



England’s Universality of Sussex will hold a weekend symposium on the Who's Quadrophenia album and film in commemoration of the 50th anniversary next month of "Mods" and "Rockers" legendary battles on the beaches in such southern England seaside resort towns as Brighton, Margate, Bournemouth, and Clacton.


Rolling Stone reported that the seminar will take place from July 10th through the 12th, with the schedule including "talks on everything from the 'the Post-1960s Mod Diaspora' to 'the sea and the scooter in Quadrophenia.'" Although Quadrophenia film director Franc Roddam will be attending, Pete Townshend will not -- although he passed along a supportive email to the symposium’s organizers.

Townshend told us that when writing the album in 1972 and 1973, he hoped that Quadrophenia would once again connect them with their early fans who followed the Who back in 1964 when they played such regular haunts as the Goldhawk Club and Railway Hotel: "I kind of hit on this notion that what had happened to the Who, was that we lost contact -- not with our audience, per se -- but with our original audience, with our very first audience. And it would be interesting to look at what somebody, like a kid y'know, from, y'know, the early days of the band; what they would feel looking at the Who -- not so much in the present day, but, y'know, in three or four years on -- and whether they would find themselves in that band or not. And if they did find themselves in that band, what would they find?"

  • Original London Mod "Irish" Jack Lyons has been a friend of the Who's going on 50 years, and remains thrilled and flattered that Pete Townshend used his life as the springboard for the character of Jimmy, which Townshend derived from their many conversations: "I used to tell Townshend all this. (Laughs) And the amazing thing about it is that while he was nodding his head looking at me, with a whimsical smile on his face, he was studying me! So I mean (laughs), not only was he stealing my dance steps from the Goldhawk Club and reenacting them the following week at the Marquee; you could say that he owes me a great deal in the sense of. . . in the spiritual sense."
  • Although Quadrophenia is set in mid-1960's London and is based around a stylistic sub-class of fashion conscious "mods," Roger Daltrey told us that the meat of the story deals with universal issues felt by teens around the globe: "I think it's easy to understand, it's that period of your life when you're going through adolescence and your trying to find out who you are. And hopefully you get to that point quite soon after your teens (laughs). Or some people get into their 30's before they get there -- maybe even their '70s."


  • Coming on June 8th is the Who’s new live collection, Quadrophenia: Live In London. The set was recorded on July 8th, 2013 during their tour-closing concert at London’s Wembley Arena. The collection will be released in seven different configurations -- including a five-disc metal box.
  • The tracklisting for Quadrophenia: Live In London is: “I Am The Sea,” “The Real Me,” “Quadrophenia,” “Cut My Hair,” “The Punk And The Godfather,” “I’m One,” “The Dirty Jobs,” “Helpless Dancer,’ ‘Is It In My Head?,” “I’ve Had Enough,” “5:15," "Sea And Sand,” “Drowned,” Bell Boy,” “Doctor Jimmy," “The Rock," “Love Reign O'er Me,” “Who Are You,” “You Better You Bet,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Baba O'Riley,” “Won't Get Fooled Again,” and “Tea & Theatre.”

The Who’s Quadrophenia: Live In London will be released in the following configurations:

  • Single-Disc Blu-Ray of the concert film
  • Single-Disc Standard DVD of the concert film
  • Single-Disc Blu-Ray Pure Audio Format of the original Quadrophenia album in a 5.1 mix
  • Digital Video Download of the concert film
  • Two-CD soundtrack of the audio from the concert film
  • Digital Album Download of the audio from the concert film
  • Five-Disc Limited Edition Metal Box
    • Blu-Ray Disc of the concert film
    • Standard DVD of the concert film
    • Blu-Ray Pure Audio Format Quadrophenia original album in 5.1 mix
    • Two Audio CDs of the concert
    • 10-inch Round Metal Mod Headlight Container
    • Mod Headlight Button
    • Six-inch Mod Headlight Sticker
    • 32-Page Booklet with photos and liner notes

CHECK IT OUT: The trailer for 1979's Quadrophenia:

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce