Music News



Metallica recently celebrated the 25th anniversary of the release of . . . And Justice For All, the band's fourth studio album and first to reach both the Top 10 on the Billboard album chart and the one million mark in sales. Frontman James Hetfield spoke with Artist Direct about the record, saying, "Touring that thing, I think of it as our fancy, showing-off album, 'We're crazy progressive musicians. We really know how to play here!' (laughs) Making that work into this is a challenge, and I love that part of it."


The disc was also the first full-length studio effort to feature bassist Jason Newsted, with Hetfield recalling, "It wasn't the first time with Jason Newsted, but it was the first real studio record he showed up and kind of was heard on the album (laughs). That's another whole therapy session right there!"

  • Newsted joined the band in late 1986 after the death of Cliff Burton and made his recording debut with them on 1987's The $5.98 EP: Garage Days Re-Revisited.
  • Justiceeventually sold more than eight million copies. The single "One" was the basis of the group's first official music video.
  • Just like the band's 2003 album, St. Anger, and to a lesser extent 2008's Death Magnetic, Justice was criticized upon its release for its production. Drummer Lars Ulrich told us that fans back then were equally vocal: "I mean it was unbelievable, you know, ...And Justice For All. People were saying, 'That's the worst-sounding record, where's the bass, and it sounds like it was recorded in a garage, and...' But, you know, listen, you do the best you can in the moment and then you move on."
  • Several tracks from Justice, including the title song, "Blackened," "Harvester Of Sorrow" and of course "One" still find their way into Metallica's set lists to this day.
  • A new version of the famous Lady Justice statue from the cover, which first appeared in the band's live show on the original Justice tour, recently surfaced as part of the stage production in the movie Metallica Through The Never.

CHECK IT OUT: Watch the original video for "One":

SIDE NOTES: Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich has recently penned the foreword for A Work In Progress: Journal, Recipes And Snapshots, a three-book set by Rene Redzepi, head chef of NOMA restaurant in Copenhagen, Denmark. The trilogy features a 60,000-word journal written by Redzepi himself, as well as a hardback recipe book featuring over 100 new recipes from NOMA, while exploring themes such as creativity, ambition and collaboration. Ulrich wrote in part, "When Rene reached out to me to write this intro, he asked me to write about creativity . . . Creativity is as much about exploring what you don't know as embracing what you do know." Read more of Ulrich's foreword at

Metallica's Lars Ulrich On The Sound Of '...And Justice For All'

Read more at Blabbermouth

Ultimate Classic Rock reports Metallica plays first show with Jason Newsted 27 years ago

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce