Music News



Young Guns, who topped the rock chart earlier this year with the song "Bones," are hard at work on their next studio effort. The British band is holed up at a studio in New York City "doing some writing, fast demoing and pre-production all in kind of one big chunk," singer Gustav Wood told Alternative Press. Wood added, "We've managed to get what I think is a pretty great amount of material in a short amount of time. We're really excited; we're in a really great place right now."


Wood told us recently how the band goes about writing songs: "It's just kind of try everything and see what works. Usually I suppose John (Taylor, guitar) or Fraser (Taylor, guitar) will bring either a riff or a vague kind of idea for a finished song, and then we'll all sit down and kind of tear it apart and build it into something that we're all happy with."

  • Working in New York has been an added charge for the group, with Wood saying "It's inspiring to be -- as a (band) from London -- to wake up every day and go to Times Square and to make music with my mates."
  • As for what the band's new music sounds like, Wood called it "quite an evolution," explaining, "This record is really about challenging (ourselves) to be more creative and hopefully a little more unique."
  • Young Guns reached the Number One spot on the U.S. rock radio chart last March with "Bones," the title track from the band's second studio album.
  • The song spent 32 consecutive weeks climbing the chart, making the group record-holders for the longest unbroken rise to the top.


  • Young Guns was formed in 2003 and released its debut album, All Our Kings Are Dead, in 2010.
  • Gustav Wood and Fraser Taylor are the only members of the group who have been in the lineup from the beginning.
  • The group recorded its second album, 2012's Bones, at a studio in Thailand.

CHECK IT OUT: Watch Young Guns perform "Bones" live last year at Guilfest:

Gustav Wood On How Young Guns Writes Songs

Read more at Noisecreep

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce