Music News



Foo Fighters guitarist Chris Shiflett told FasterLouder last week that the band was getting closer to hitting the studio to record its eighth album, saying, "We haven't officially started, but we're getting underway soon." He added that frontman and leader Dave Grohl had a lot of "interesting" ideas about what direction the disc would take and how it would be recorded.


Shiflett explained, "I can't go into too much detail, but . . . I'm excited about it. Dave's got a bunch of new songs and the way that we're gonna make the new record -- like, the approach for it -- is gonna be pretty f***ing fun. And different. I feel like Dave's always looking for ways . . . to keep things exciting and keep things inspired and fun. I think he's got some good ideas for this next one."

  • Foo Fighters recorded their last album, 2011's Wasting Light, in Grohl's garage, playing as much of the music as possible live to analog tape, instead of recording digitally into a computer.
  • Foo Fighters went on an extended break last October after touring behind Wasting Light so that Grohl could work on his documentary, Sound City, which came out in February.
  • The Grohl-directed documentary, about a legendary Los Angeles studio where many of rock's greatest albums were recorded, has been certified gold for sales of more than 50,000 copies of the film on Blu-ray and DVD.

SIDE NOTES: Chris Shiflett has an alt-country side project called Chris Shiflett And The Dead Peasants, and will release a new album called All Hat And No Cattle on August 2nd.


  • Have Foo Fighters been away long enough? Are you ready for them to come back even though Dave has been in the spotlight a lot this year already?
  • What would you like to hear on the next Foos album?
  • Should the band record it live to tape like they did with Wasting Light?

NME reports Dave Grohl plays drums at "Grease" Sing-A-Long event

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce