Music News



While in Memphis on Sunday (May 26th), Paul McCartney made his first-ever visit to Elvis Presley's Graceland mansion. Although McCartney, along with the other Beatles, had met "The King" in 1965, they visited Elvis at his home in Bel Air. McCartney posted on his Facebook account a photo of him holding one of Elvis' custom made Gibson acoustic guitars and was also photographed placing a "Paul McCartney" pick on his childhood idol's grave.


Even today, McCartney still considers himself to be a heavy-duty early Elvis fan -- and has always named "All Shook Up" as one of his all-time favorites: "I love a lot of Elvis' tracks -- 'All Shook Up' is one of my big favorites. I love 'Love Me Tender.' You could choose anything off his first albums and I'd love that. Anything till he went in the army, and I went off him after that. It just never seemed the same to me. It seemed like they'd tamed him."

  • Paul McCartney will next perform on Wednesday and Thursday (May 29th and 30th) at Tulsa, Oklahoma's BOK Center.

CHECK IT OUT: McCartney with Elvis' guitar:

CHECK IT OUT: McCartney at Elvis' grave:


Out today (May 28th) is the latest reissue in Paul McCartney's Archive Collection -- 1976's triple-album set, Wings Over America. The "Deluxe Version" of the album is by far the most expansive package in the collection, which has previously included such classic albums as McCartney, Ram, Band On The Run, and McCartney II. The chart-topping Wings Over America live album documented McCartney's sole North American tour of the '70s -- and the only live set by Wings -- which at that point featured McCartney's wife Linda McCartney on keyboards, guitarists Denny Laine and Jimmy McCulloch, and drummer Joe English. Joining the band was a four-piece horn section including Tony Dorsey, Thaddeus Richard, Howie Casey, and Steve Howard.

Beatlefan contributor Tom Frangione explained that seeing "Macca" on the road today is a completely different experience to seeing him during his 1976 tour: "You go see Paul McCartney, it's a great show, it's polished, it's orchestrated -- it's everything that his audience and fan-base wants to hear -- i.e. lots of Beatles songs. The difference between Paul McCartney on the road and Wings Over America is, Wings was really a band at that point. He was doing current material. He dipped into primarily his three most recent albums to that point. And that's what made up the core of the setlist."

  • Robert Rodriguez, author of the groundbreaking, Revolver - How The Beatles Reimagined Rock 'N' Roll and his two critically acclaimed Beatles FAQ books, says that whether you made the show in '76 or not -- Wings Over America remains a classic for the ages: "What an amazing experience to have captured and put on record. Because, y'know, for the people that didn't get to see the concert that are kicking themselves for the rest of their lives, y'know, that album is a really nice souvenir."
  • The new "Deluxe Edition Box Set" includes four books, three CD's, and one DVD. The set's audio and video has been remastered at Abbey Road Studios, and includes a bonus DVD containing the rarely seen 75-minute 1979 CBS television special Wings Over The World, and a photo gallery montage entitled "Photographer's Pass." The bonus CD features eight previously unreleased performances from McCartney & Wings' June 13th and 14th shows at Northern California's Cow Palace.
  • Also included are four "exquisitely rendered art books packaged with an incredible array of exclusive memorabilia, souvenirs, mementos, keepsakes and never-before-seen photos and art work from this historic tour. The spectacular 110-page commemorative tour book beautifully recounts the behind-the-scenes drama through dozens of live performances and backstage photos along with new interviews and liner notes from eminent music journalist David Fricke."
  • The "Deluxe Edition" also includes the "Wings Over America" leatherette-bound "Tour Itinerary," which contains extravagant memorabilia, including printed eight-by-ten glossy band photos, a backstage guest pass, facsimiles of the invitation to the infamous end-of-tour party at the Harold Lloyd Estate in Beverly Hills, along with "Wings Over America" concert tickets, original album artwork, tour posters, set lists, lyrics, press materials, and much more.
  • A book of Linda McCartney's personal shots of the band while on tour in May and June 1976 called Look! is also included alongside The Ocean View -- a book of drawings done by artist Humphrey Ocean while on tour with the band.
  • Wings Over America will also be reissued as a "Standard Edition" double CD and digital release, as well as a three-LP vinyl set.

The tracklisting to the "Deluxe Edition" of Wings Over America is:

  • Disc One: "Venus And Mars/Rock Show/Jet," "Let Me Roll It," "Spirits Of Ancient Egypt," "Medicine Jar," "Maybe I'm Amazed," "Call Me Back Again," "Lady Madonna," "The Long And Winding Road," "Live And Let Die," "Picasso's Last Words (Drink To Me)," "Richard Cory," "Bluebird," "Blackbird," and "Yesterday."
  • Disc Two: "You Gave me The Answer," "Magneto And Titanium Man," "Go Now," "My Love," "Listen To What The Man Said," "Let 'Em In," "Time To Hide," "Silly Love Songs," "Beware My Love," "Letting Go," "Band On The Run," "Hi, Hi, Hi," and "Soily."
  • Disc Three - 2013 Bonus Disc: "Let Me Roll It," "Maybe I'm Amazed," "Lady Madonna," "Live And Let Die," "Picasso's Last Words (Drink To Me)" "Bluebird," "Blackbird," and "Yesterday."

CHECK IT OUT: The spread for the "Deluxe Box Set" edition of Wings Over America:

CHECK IT OUT: The "Deluxe Box Set" packaging of Wings Over America:

CHECK IT OUT: Paul McCartney & Wings on June 22nd, 1976 live in Los Angeles performing "Jet" and "Let 'Em In":

Paul McCartney On Elvis Presley's Music
Robert Rodriguez On 'Wings Over America' LP
Tom Frangione On Paul McCartney's Wings Setlists

Read more about Graceland at Rolling Stone and Billboard

Rolling Stone posts a flashback: Paul McCartney performs "Abbey Road" Medley in 1997  Read more at Billboard and NME

Check out a pic at Classic Rock

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce