Music News



Queens Of The Stone Age's new album, . . . Like Clockwork, features guest appearances from Trent Reznor, Dave Grohl and other luminaries, including the legendary Elton John. We asked Queens frontman Josh Homme how he snagged the iconic singer/songwriter to play on the record: "It actually stemmed from an old roommate of mine, who drives really high-end folks around now, and Elton was in the car listening to Them Crooked Vultures, I guess. And his assistant was saying, 'Oh, you've got to hear Queens, the other band of this guy,' you know. And because my old roommate was driving the car, it was like, 'Do you want to talk to him?' And I just got a phone call at my house on a Sunday. You know, he said, 'The only thing missing from your band is an actual queen,' and I said, 'Honey, you have no idea.'"

  • The track that Elton plays on is called "Fairweather Friend."
  • Like Clockwork is due out June 4th and will be the Queens' debut for Matador Records after many years with the Interscope label. Frontman and founder Josh Homme described the disc as "audio documentary of a manic year."
  • Although it was initially reported that Dave Grohl played all the drum tracks on the new CD, Grohl only appears on selected songs. The rest of the drums are handled by Joey Castillo and Jon Theodore.
  • Other guests on the record include Scissor Sisters singer Jake Shears, Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner and one-time Queens of the Stone Age members Mark Lanegan and Nick Oliveri.


  • Do you think Elton John and Queens Of The Stone Age make for an odd combination?
  • Elton used to rock out back in the day -- do you think he can still pull it off if he's playing with a good band?
  • Are you looking forward to hearing this new Queens album?

Josh Homme On Getting Elton John For The New Queens Album

Read more at Blabbermouth, Loudwire, Ultimate Classic Rock and NME

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce