Music News



The Rolling Stones have just reissued their 1969 live collection, Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert. The new package is a slimmed down version of the 2009 reissue sold without the deluxe box -- which included an exclusive 56-page collector's book with vintage and original essays about the album and the Stones' 1969 tour. The reissue features three CD's and one DVD. The first disc includes the full 1970 Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out album, with the second disc including five additional cuts left off the original set. The third disc features performances from Ike & Tina Turner and B.B. King who served as the Stones' opening acts on November 27th and 28th, 1969 at New York's Madison Square Garden.


The DVD features five tracks from the Stones' November 27th New York show, along with backstage footage -- including appearances by Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, scenes of Keith Richards in the studio and footage of the Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! album cover shoot, all shot by filmmakers Albert and David Maysles."

  • Stones drummer Charlie Watts admits that he's never even considered the Rolling Stones to be an institution: "I don't look at the Rolling Stones like that. Y'know, it just. . . they're a group of people that I know that become the Rolling Stones when they get together. Something happens around us when we play that is either magic, or (a) catastrophe -- whichever way you look at it. It always has done and I assume it always will."

The tracklisting to the expanded Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert collection is:

  • Disc One: "Jumpin' Jack Flash," "Carol," "Stray Cat Blues," "Love In Vain," "Midnight Rambler," "Sympathy For The Devil," "Live With Me," "Little Queenie," "Honky Tonk Women," and "Street Fighting Man."
  • Disc Two: "Prodigal Son," "You Gotta Move," "Under My Thumb," "I'm Free," and "(I Can t Get No) Satisfaction."
  • Disc Three: (B.B. King) "Everyday I Have The Blues," "How Blue Can You Get," "That's Wrong Little Mama," "Why I Sing The Blues," "Please Accept My Love"; (Ike & Tina Turner) "Gimme Some Loving," "Sweet Soul Music," "Son Of A Preacher Man," "Proud Mary," "I've Been Loving You Too Long," "Come Together," and "Land Of 1000 Dances."
  • Disc Four - DVD: "Introduction" (Madison Square Garden)," "Prodigal Son," "You Gotta Move," "Album Photo Shoot," "Keith In Studio," "Under My Thumb," "I'm Free," "Backstage With Jimi Hendrix," and "(I Can t Get No) Satisfaction."


  • Among the other opening acts on the '69 tour were Terry Reid and Chuck Berry -- who performed instead of B.B. King on several dates.
  • The Stones' 1969 tour took in 24 shows in 17 cities and ran from November 7th through December 6th when the band played their ill-planned and ill-fated free concert at Livermore, California's Altamont Speedway. The concert, which featured security by the San Francisco branch of the Hell's Angels, resulted in the stabbing death of 18-year-old concert-goer Meredith Hunter.
  • The concert -- and the murder -- was the basis of the Stones' 1970 documentary Gimme Shelter.
  • Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! was recorded on November 26th, 1969 at the Baltimore Civic Center and on November 27th and 28th at Madison Square Garden. There was extensive post production added to the raw tapes by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards in 1970 at Olympic Studios.
  • Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert was released on September 4th, 1970 and topped the UK album charts and peaked at Number Six in the States.

CHECK IT OUT: The Stones in 1969 performing "Prodigal Son" live at MSG as featured on the Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! DVD:

Charlie Watts On The Core Of The Rolling Stones

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce