Music News



The Beatles have just released the 2003 Let It Be. . . Naked collection on iTunes. The album, which was spearheaded by Paul McCartney, sought to showcase the band's 1970 Let It Be collection minus Phil Spector's post-production editing, remixing, and orchestrations. Naked's tracklist differs from Let It Be's in that the original album's background dialogue, and two impromptu songs -- "Dig It" and "Maggie Mae" -- are not included, while a live composite of the two Apple Rooftop versions of "Don't Let Me Down" -- the studio version of which, was originally released as the B-side of "Get Back" -- is added. Also new to the set is a live composite of the two Apple Rooftop versions of "I've Got A Feeling," and a sparse remix of "Across The Universe."


The iTunes LP includes approximately 20 minutes of bonus studio banter audio, historic photography of the studio sessions, and transcribed excerpts from the Beatles' studio dialogue -- which first appeared in the original 1970 UK LP package for Let It Be. In addition to the 11-track album, the iTunes album features all of the original booklet art and liner notes. Music videos for the Naked versions of "Get Back" and "Don't Let Me Down" are also exclusively available on iTunes for download purchase and free streaming.

  • The tracklisting to the Beatles' Let It Be . . . Naked is: "Get Back," "Dig A Pony," "For You Blue," "The Long And Winding Road," "Two of Us," "I've Got A Feeling," "One After 909," "Don't Let Me Down," "I Me Mine," "Across The Universe" and "Let It Be."
  • Legendary Beatles producer George Martin admits that he was hurt when John Lennon and George Harrison handed the album's tapes over to Phil Spector in an attempt to commercialize his specifically requested low-key work behind the boards: ["When the record came to be issued, EMI (Records) rang me up and said, 'They don't want your name on the record, it will be 'Produced by Phil Spector.'' I said, 'But I produced all the original stuff that they worked on.' I said, 'I'm not having that.' I said, 'Why don't you put on it: 'Produced by George Martin -- Overproduced by Phil Spector'? But they didn't seem to care for that."] SOUNDCUE (:18 OC: . . . care for that)
  • Let It Be. . . Naked was released on November 17th, 2003 and peaked at Number Five on the Billboard 200 album chart.


  • With the release of Let It Be. . . Naked, the only officially released non-compilation Beatles album unavailable on CD or as a digital download is the long out of print 1977 concert collection, The Beatles At The Hollywood Bowl.
  • All the "Fab Four's" 1990's original releases are now available on iTunes -- Live At The BBC (1994); The Beatles Anthology 1 (1995); The Beatles Anthology 2 (1996); The Beatles Anthology 3 (1996); and Yellow Submarine Songtrack (1999).

CHECK IT OUT: The 2003 video for the Naked version of "Get Back" using unreleased footage from Let It Be:

George Martin On His Credit For 'Let It Be'

Read more at Ultimate Classic Rock, Rolling StoneBillboard and NME

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce