Music News



Skillet has set a June 25th release date for Rise, the band's ninth studio album. The lead single from the disc, "Sick Of It," will head to iTunes and rock radio around April 9th. The band has set up a micro-site for the song where fans can check out a sample of the track and also get involved in a "Sick Of It" promotion. The group is asking fans to submit photos of what they are "sick of," using the hashtags #sickofit and #skillet. Some of the fan photos will then be selected for the song's upcoming music video.


  • Frontman John Cooper has revealed that Riseis Skillet's first concept album. The story follows an American teen coming into adulthood and trying to figure out who he is in a world riddled with problems both within and beyond his control.
  • Cooper said, "The narrative idea happened after we had 10 or 11 of the songs chosen. As we recorded them, we started to realize that there was something going on -- that the album was really telling a story. Realizing that, I knew we needed to make it as powerful as we could."
  • Rise follows up the band's 2009 album Awake, which debuted at Number Two on the Billboard album chart. The disc spawned three huge rock radio singles, including the chart-topping "Awake And Alive" and the Top Five hit "Monster."
  • Cooper told us a while back that having a Number One single for the first time in their 15-year career was a victory for the Christian band: "I did not think 'Awake And Alive' -- I thought maybe it's a Top 10 song if we get lucky. I never dreamt it would have been a Number One song. But I think people finally got over some of their prejudices against us and gave us some love on it."
  • Skillet has a handful of North American festival appearances set for April and May, with more scheduled throughout this summer.

CHECK IT OUT: Visit the "Sick Of It" micro-site at

INTERNET COMMENTS at Loudwire -- agree or not?

Joshua Thurman wrote: "Based on my experiences with this band, Red, Disciple, and Pillar, I am guessing this will be the second most awesome release of 2013 behind Red's Release the Panic, which at first isn't the best but after time really becomes the best album of the year so far."

Dustin Alcock wrote: "I dig a couple of Skillet records (Collide and Comatose) but the dude rips off whatever mainstream band is popular and makes his band sound exactly like it figuring he can make it popular in Christian form. From Orgy to Breaking Benjamin, it's funny."

An Analysis of Music wrote: "Hopefully their next record will be really good as well :) I don't know Skillet too well, but I'm pretty sure they'll be able to deliver a great album."

Skillet's John Cooper On Their First Number One Single

Read more at Loudwire

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce