Music News



On April 29th, Record Store Day, Soundgarden will release a limited edition vinyl collection of the demos for the band's 2012 album, King Animal. This will mark the first time these early recordings of tracks from the CD have been made available. According to Blabbermouth, the six-song package will be pressed on 10-inch pink vinyl and will also include a free digital download card. The demos were recorded by both singer Chris Cornell and the entire band at studios in Los Angeles and Seattle.


  • King Animal was the first collection of all-new material from the legendary grunge quartet in 16 years, following their reunion in 2010.
  • Guitarist Kim Thayil told us that there is more music around that could be used on the next record: "There's material that didn't make it to record, there's other ideas that are there, so I think there's a good chance there will be another album of new material."
  • Record Store Day is an annual event that celebrates the unique culture surrounding over 700 independently owned record stores in the U.S., as well as hundreds of similar stores internationally.
  • Scores of other artists are preparing special limited edition releases for the day, including Linkin Park, Jack White, Grouplove, Avenged Sevenfold, the Black Keys, Deftones and many more.


  • King Animal is Soundgarden's first album in over 16 years and features the singles "Been Away Too Long" and "By Crooked Steps." The video for the latter song has been directed by Dave Grohl.
  • The band recently announced the second leg of its latest North American tour, with the new round of dates beginning on May 3rd in Atlantic City, New Jersey and including stops at radio festivals and events like Rock On The Range.
  • The band filmed the final show of its recent three-night stand at the Wiltern in Los Angeles -- which closed out the tour's first leg -- for an episode of the PBS series Live From The Artists Den which will air later this year.

Soundgarden's Kim Thayil On Music For Next Album

Read more at Blabbermouth and Loudwire

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce