Music News



It's looking as though the Who's New York City benefit concert tomorrow night (February 28th) in New York City will see the band dip into their back catalogue. Elvis Costello is also on the bill at Manhattan's Theater At Madison Square Garden for the Teen Cancer America Benefit. According to fan posts from, guitarist Simon Townshend has posted on Facebook and told fans that some key classics absent from the current tour will get an airing, including "You Better You Bet," "The Kids Are Alright," and "I Can See For Miles" -- which the Who hasn't performed live since 1989.


Simon, who's Pete Townshend's younger brother, is currently out promoting his new album, Looking Out Looking In. We asked him if he found it tedious having to play such a powerful and rigid piece as Quadrophenia night after night: "Well, it's cool when the music's that good. I think if the music wasn't that good, it would just become a day job, being onstage having to do everything so rigidly. Yeah, it could become mundane in other bands, but in the Who it doesn't. Anything can happen (laughs) anytime."

  • Simon Townshend will perform tonight (February 27th) at New York City' Joe's Pub.


  • Last fall, Simon Townshend released his latest album, Looking Out Looking In, which features the track "Electric Friend," a tribute to longtime pal, Pearl Jam frontman, Eddie Vedder.
  • He is the third and youngest Townshend brother and is 15 years younger than Pete. Middle brother Paul is three years older than Simon and currently a successful decorator.
  • Simon began performing with the Who during their 1996/1997 revival of Quadrophenia.
  • In 2004, he produced the band's first new original track in 22 years, the Pete Townshend-written, "Real Good Looking Boy."
  • Since 2009, Simon has been performing as the guitarist in Roger Daltrey's solo band.

CHECK IT OUT: The Who in 2006 performing "You Better You Bet" at L.A.'s Hollywood Bowl:

Simon Townshend On The Who Playing A Rigid Setlist

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce