Music News



Sick Puppies bassist Emma Anzai has taken to Tumblr to post an update on the band's new album, which will follow up the Australian trio's 2009 release, Tri-Polar. Anzai wrote, "Because we are perfectionists and don't want to mess this up, we are taking our time to make sure this is right. We wrote over 70 songs and could potentially release more of these than 12 for the album, but the truth is, we have a need for this to be perfect and just right ... and sometimes it takes a little more time."


  • The rumored working title for the new disc is Under The Black Sky, although that has yet to be officially confirmed.
  • The Puppies toured extensively behind Tri-Polar, with frontman Shim Moore telling us at the time that they were spending so much time in the U.S. that they were starting to sound like Americans: "I think the more time we spend here we're losing our Australian accents to an extent, 'cause we were watching the 'Maybe' video and so we went back and we looked at some really older footage, like five, six years ago, and our accents are very different, very much more Australian. I think we've sort of become a little more neutral and Americanized over the time that we've spent here."
  • Sick Puppies' last road trip through the U.S. took place last fall, when the band joined Seether and Kyng on the Triple Threat tour.
  • Tri-Polar contained four songs that made the rock radio charts: "You're Going Down," "Odd One," "Maybe" and "Riptide."


  • Sick Puppies was formed in 1997 in Australia by Moore and Anzai.
  • Moore and Anzai moved to Los Angeles after releasing their debut disc, Welcome To The Real World, in 2001. They found current drummer Mark Goodwin through a Craigslist ad.
  • The group's major breakthrough came in 2006, when the video for their song "All The Same," which supported the "Free Hugs Campaign" in Sydney, generated 70 million views on YouTube.
  • Their major label debut, Dressed Up As Life, came out in 2007 and featured a version of "All The Same" as well as the singles "My World" and "Pitiful."

CHECK IT OUT: Watch the original "Free Hugs" video scored with "All The Same":

Shim Moore On Sick Puppies Losing Their Accents

Read more at Loudwire

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce