Music News



Soundgarden has released the music video for "By Crooked Steps," the second single from the Seattle quartet's new album, King Animal. The clip was directed by Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl, who submitted a treatment for the video on his own initiative after hearing the song. Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayil told us that Grohl's enthusiasm was the reason the whole thing happened: "We were not intending to do a single with 'By Crooked Steps,' but because of Dave's eagerness to direct a video for it, we shuffled things and thought, you know, this could be fun. And the actual shooting of the video followed pretty closely his treatment, which is also a rare thing to have occur."

  • Grohl said in a statement about the video, "I had an idea. I got a copy of the record and the third song 'By Crooked Steps' was a signature, instantly recognizable Soundgarden song."
  • The video features the band members as part of an unusual biker gang and also includes a cameo from electronic artist Deadmau5.
  • Grohl has directed a number of Foo Fighters videos and has just made his debut as a feature director with the documentary Sound City.
  • King Animal came out last November and was Soundgarden's first set of all-new material in 16 years.
  • Soundgarden kicked off a winter North American tour two weeks ago, and starts a two-night Chicago stand on Tuesday (January 29th).

CHECK IT OUT: Watch a trailer for the "By Crooked Steps" video here:

And take a look at the clip itself here:

INTERNET COMMENTS at Blabbermouth -- agree or not?

Ideator wrote: "Dave is the man."

dejavu wrote: "That video cracks me up, kick ass soundgarden tune too!"

TheEagle wrote: "Isn't it funny that the guys kicking our asses these days are the veterans of that grunge movement?"

Rukfm wrote: "Dave Grohl is the man of the year so far and that new Soundgarden album delivers the goods in a way I never expected."

Soundgarden's Kim Thayil On Dave Grohl Directing New Video

Read more at Blabbermouth, Loudwire and Rolling Stone and NME

Check out more details at Blabbermouth, Classic Rock and Noisecreep

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce