Music News



Christian band Skillet are just the third rock act to have their latest album certified platinum for sales of more than one million copies. The group's eighth studio effort, Awake, hit the magic number in 2012, joining the Black Keys' El Camino and Mumford And Sons' Babel as one of just three rock records to do so. The band got the news while in the studio finishing up their new CD, which is due out this spring.


Frontman John Cooper said about the new album, "Musically, this record feels like a roller coaster ride. Several tracks are aggressive with dirtier and edgier guitars. Korey (Cooper)'s keyboards are extremely unique and (drummer) Jen (Ledger)'s great vocals are showcased throughout the album. There are some powerful anthems and the 'signature Skillet' songs our fans tend to love: symphonic, classical rock duets."

  • Awake debuted at Number Two on the Billboardalbum chart when it came out in 2009, spawning the hit singles "Monster," "Hero," "Awake And Alive" and "It's Not Me, It's You."
  • Although the band emerged from the Christian music circuit, Cooper told us a while back that he always wanted to appeal to a diverse audience: "I don't want to be known as a band who writes songs for Christians. I don't always know what someone else mean when they say that. It's a little bit like saying, 'Hey, are you a Republican or a Democrat?' and you're a little scared to say these days because it might mean something different to one person than it does to someone else. So I basically say, 'Absolutely, we are Christians, not ashamed of that, not looking to hide that, but we don't write songs for Christian people. We write songs for people."
  • Awake also earned three Billboard Music Awards, scored 47 million YouTube views for the "Monster" video, and had the song "Hero" used by both the NFL and WWE for various commercials and events.
  • The group's fan following is dubbed "Panheads."

CHECK IT OUT: Watch the official music video for "Monster":

Skillet's John Cooper Says His Songs Are Not Just For Christians

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce