Music News



Alice In Chains guitarist Jerry Cantrell has confirmed to Guitar World that the band has finished recording its fifth studio album and second without original vocalist Layne Staley. The new disc will follow up 2009's Black Gives Way To Blue, which ended a 14-year gap between studio efforts for the group and featured singer/guitarist William DuVall. Cantrell said, "In my opinion, that record stood up to anything else we've put out in our career and this new one is right up there, as well."


  • Alice In Chains began working on new material in 2011, but the sessions for the album were delayed when Cantrell had to undergo shoulder surgery.
  • He said that the pressure in following up Black Gives Way To Blue was like "having to deal with the sophomore jinx for the second time in our career."
  • Alice In Chains all but faded from the scene after the release of its self-titled third album in 1995. Staley's death in 2002 seemed to seal the band's fate as well.
  • But Cantrell, drummer Sean Kinney and bassist Mike Inez regrouped in 2006 with DuVall, first for several tours and then eventually to create new music.
  • Although no official release date has been confirmed yet for the new album, it has likely that the disc may make its debut in early 2013.


  • Are you glad that the Alice In Chains reunion was not just a one-off?
  • Do you think it's still Alice In Chains without Staley?
  • What do you think the new album will sound like? Do you think the band can top Black Gives Way To Blue?

INTERNET COMMENTS at Loudwire -- agree or not?

Marques Johnson wrote: "Pretty excited for the new album. Huge AIC Fan."

Debbi Sheeley wrote: "can't wait for the new music and to see you guys again!!!"

Joe Briner wrote: "sorry but the end of staley was the end of AIC....try a different name cantrell, it will never measure up..."

CHECK IT OUT: Watch the video for "Check My Brain" from Black Gives Way To Blue:

Read more at BlabbermouthLoudwire and Classic Rock

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce