Music News



Tool frontman Maynard James Keenan's side project, the musical revue known as Puscifer, will release a new EP on February 19th called Donkey Punch The Night. The eight-track disc will feature the same lineup that recorded the act's 2011 album, Conditions Of My Parole, and will feature two original songs, "Breathe" and "Dear Brother," in addition to covers of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody," Accept's "Balls To The Wall" and a variety of remixes.

  • Keenan said in a statement, "While continuing our tradition of releasing a few new songs at a time, I also had an itch that needed scratching, and that itch was 'Balls To The Wall.' Which was followed by an even harder to reach itch known as 'Bohemian Rhapsody.' And scratch them we did."
  • The singer spent a good portion of this year touring with Puscifer, taking time out for a Tool tour early in 2012 and some dates with A Perfect Circle.
  • He has also continued tending to his vineyards in northern Arizona and recently began writing a column for the Phoenix New Times.
  • As for a new Tool album, Keenan is presumably waiting for the other three members to complete writing the music for it before he begins working on lyrics and vocals. No recording timetable has been set.

SIDE NOTES: Check out the full track listing for Donkey Punch the Night:
1. "Bohemian Rhapsody" (O.G. Mix)
2. "Breathe"
3. "Dear Brother"
4. "Balls To The Wall" (Pillow Fight Mix)
5. "Breathe" (Drumcell rework)
6. "Dear Brother" (Denton rework/Big Black Delta)
7. "Balls To The Wall" (Silent Servant El Guapo Mix)
8. "Bohemian Rhapsody" (Sonoio rework)

INTERNET COMMENTS at Blabbermouth -- agree or not?

Aces_High99 wrote: "Looking forward to hearing Maynard tackle Freddie's vocals. Looking EVEN MORE forward to hearing some new Tool...eventually...PLEASE."

UlverShuggah wrote: "As tool fans we should boycott maynard's solo releases (Puscifer & APC etc) to ensure new Tool is out in a timely matter and they continue to tour."

Smashing Blumpkins wrote: "Boycotting new APC would be f***ing moronic. If you didn't love Thirteenth Step, I don't wanna know you."

mygoodeye wrote: "This guy has clearly lost his inspiration to create new (original) material. His vocal talent has been on a decreasing slope as well for quite some time (see the same setlist played by his only good band over the course of the last 6 years). He should consider hanging it up and stick to making desert wine and writing intellectually sub par columns for a newspaper clearly in need of more readers."

Read more at BlabbermouthLoudwire and Noisecreep

Check out an interview at Blabbermouth and Loudwire

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce