Music News



Avenged Sevenfold returned to the public eye this week with its new song and video "Carry On," which is included in the just-released blockbuster video game Call Of Duty: Black Ops II. Lead singer M. Shadows told us that ever since recording that song in August, Avenged has been working steadily on album number six: "I try not to say too much about the album because you know how the Internet world is, so I'll just say this: we have a direction, we're sticking to that direction, and we feel really very happy writing in these terms that we've laid out for ourselves. The album is coming along very nicely, we're excited to get in the studio, we have about six songs that I'm really happy with right now, and we're continuing to write every single day."

  • The new disc is expected out in June or July of 2013 and will follow up 2010's Nightmare.
  • That album was the first Number One record of Avenged Sevenfold's career and followed the December 2009 death of drummer Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan.
  • The new CD will be the first written and recorded by Avenged Sevenfold without any musical contributions from Sullivan, who wrote a large amount of the material for Nightmare before his death from drug and alcohol abuse.
  • Meanwhile, Call Of Duty: Black Ops II, which features a score by Trent Reznor in addition to the new Avenged Sevenfold song and dozens of others, arrived in stores on Tuesday (November 13th) and is anticipated to sell in record-breaking numbers.
  • Avenged Sevenfold previously had a song called "Not Ready To Die" on the expansion pack for the 2011 game Call Of Duty: Call Of The Dead.

CHECK IT OUT: Watch Avenged Sevenfold's video for "Carry On":


  • Do you think Avenged Sevenfold's new record will be drastically affected by not having The Rev around as a writer?
  • What direction would you like to see the band take on its next project?

INTERNET COMMENTS at Loudwire and Blabbermouth -- agree or not?

Tony Broad wrote: "omg that was Kickass!"

Raphael Raymond wrote: "commercial s***..."

Aces_High99 wrote: "Gee, what a shock. A bunch of right-wing pussies who NEVER served in the military writing the theme song to a game that glorifies endless warfare."

DMhead777 wrote: "douche bag band, for a douche bag game."

William La Rue Evanich wrote: "Awesome as f***!"

M. Shadows On The New Avenged Sevenfold Album

Read more at Blabbermouth and Loudwire

Read more about the video at Blabbermouth and Loudwire

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce