Music News



The Rolling Stones have added a third New York-area show to their upcoming dates, with their first ever show at Brooklyn's Barclays Center now set for December 8th. The concert follows the Stones' two London shows on November 25th and 29th at London's O2 Arena and comes just prior to the band's December 13th and 15th shows at Newark, New Jersey's Prudential Center.


Out today (November 13th) is the band's latest greatest hits set, titled, Grrr! The career-spanning collection -- which features a bizarre album cover featuring a drawing of a gorilla with the Stones' signature tongue-and-lips logo -- is available in several different formats -- including a three-CD 50 track version and a four-CD Super-Deluxe version featuring 80 tracks. Among the highlights on the set are "Come On" -- the Stones' cover of the Chuck Berry rarity, which was their first single released in June 1963, "The Last Time," "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction," "Get Off Of My Cloud," "Jumping Jack Flash," "Honky Tonk Women," "Brown Sugar," "Tumbling Dice," "Miss You," and "Start Me Up," among many others.

  • Mick Jagger and Keith Richards spoke to Rolling Stone about the two new tracks -- "Doom & Gloom" and "One More Shot" the band recently recorded in Paris for the collection. Richards recalled: "They were making this compilation, and at the last moment they tell us, 'Oh, it'd be nice to have an extra track or two.' So Mick and I say, 'Oh, great, we've got a month. Just like that, huh?' I said, 'I've got one,' and he said, 'I've got one' -- it was probably the quickest Rolling Stones recording sessions that I can remember, ever. We cut two tracks in three days, boom. And to me just taking one step back, to watch the band playing, just as an observer. . . whoa, man, these cats are hot."
  • Jagger also seconded the fact that the immediacy of the sessions benefited the tracks: "I knocked out 'Doom & Gloom' in very quick time, did a quick demo of it, and it didn't come out a million miles away from that, to be honest. Everyone's saying good things about it, so I can't be happier. 'One Last Shot' is a song that Keith wrote mostly. I wrote some extra lyrics for it. It's really good."
  • The Stones' new career-spanning HBO documentary, Crossfire Hurricane, will premiere on November 15th.
  • Keith Richards explained that throughout all of the Stones' greatest works -- no matter what distractions were outside the studio -- the songwriting process remained free form and cosmic: "You kind of tend to write songs no matter what else you're doing. I mean, it's not one of those things where you sit down and say, 'Oh! Songwriting time! It's just something that happens during the day. You might pick up a guitar to tune it -- and before long you've got a song, if you're lucky. I never pushed songwriting, an idea comes in like an antennae -- incoming transmit."


  • We gotta say -- this new Brooklyn date leaves a bad taste in our mouths for a couple of reasons. Firstly -- it's December 8th. And although it was 32 years ago -- it was the night that John Lennon was murdered in New York City. Out of respect for the man -- not to mention the fact that without John Lennon knocking down EVERY DOOR, there wouldn't be any Rolling Stones, or a Grrr!greatest hits volume 47 to promote. December 8th should be a "dark" night in all of rock.
  • Secondly, a massive hurricane devastated the New York Tri-State area -- with horrific damage only a few miles from where the Stones will be playing and selling tickets for $800. The only way to book a new Brooklyn date with any type of class and credibility would for it to be a 100% benefit concert for the victims of Hurricane Sandy -- anything else is kinda gross -- and EXACTLY the kind of thing John Lennon would never do.

CHECK IT OUT: The Stones in 1964 performing "Carol" on The Mike Douglas Show:

Keith Richards On Not Forcing Songwriting

Read more at Ultimate Classic Rock and Rolling Stone

Check out a review of "Grrr!" at Ultimate Classic Rock

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce