Music News



Soundgarden releases its first album in 16 years, titled King Animal, on Tuesday (November 13th). The disc is the first collection of all-new studio material since 1996's Down On The Upside and the first fresh recordings by the legendary Seattle grunge act since they reunited in 2010. Drummer Matt Cameron told us that the band deliberately stayed away from anything that would put pressure on the group -- like a record label -- and just had fun recording: "You know, it was kind of cool just to go in there and just record for ourselves, basically. We knew that our fans would like it, and we just wanted to try to make a record that would stand up with the rest of our catalog. I think the only pressure we put was on ourselves, or from ourselves, and yeah, it was kind of nice, like, not having that added pressure of any kind of label interference."


  • In a review posted on Monday (November 12th), Loudwire said that King Animal"settles in nicely, picking up right where the band left off so many years ago and taking care of a lot of unfinished business."
  • The review added that the disc "offers up an eclectic mix of visual imagery, thought provoking prose, all set to a timeless soundscape of flourishing rock with a reminiscent feel."
  • Earlier this week the band unveiled the details of a winter 2013 North American tour that will kick off on January 18th in Washington DC and feature a number of two-night stops in cities like New York, Toronto, Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles and the group's hometown of Seattle.
  • Soundgarden will also play three "intimate" North American shows this month to celebrate the release of King Animal,in New York City on Tuesday, in Toronto on November 16th and in Los Angeles on November 27th.
  • The band also performed on Monday night (November 12th) on CBS-TV's Late Show With David Letterman, with a longer performance on his Live From Letterman webcast.


  • Soundgarden was formed in 1984 by guitarist Kim Thayil, bassist Hiro Yamamoto and singer Chris Cornell, who also played drums in the band's early days.
  • The band was named after a wind-channeling pipe sculpture, called "A Sound Garden," located at Seattle's Magnuson Park.
  • Soundgarden was the first of the Seattle "grunge" bands to sign with a major label, A&M Records.
  • As of 2012, Soundgarden had sold over 10.5 million records in the United States and an estimated 22.5 million worldwide.

LISTENERS' POLL: Who is going to rush out and buy or download the new Soundgarden album this week?

INTERNET COMMENTS at Blabbermouth -- agree or not?

autopstyturvey wrote: "That new song is pretty feckin' kewl."

quigonkick wrote: "I am very happy that Soundgarden is back. They were so off-the-wall and - in my opinion - didn't really fit in that 'grunge' mold back when it was blowing up...I still hear new things when I spin Badmotorfinger. THAT is a sign of quality art!"

Million Dollar Man wrote: "I still don't know how I feel about the album. I definitely like it, but I think if they got together just to write a song as solid as Blood On The Valley Floor, that's good enough for me. By Crooked Steps, A Thousand Days Before, Taree and Eyelid's Mouth are all pretty solid too."

heavy metal maniac wrote: "The new album kicks major ass. Excellent production too."

CHECK IT OUT: Watch Soundgarden perform "Been Away Too Long" on Later Live:

Soundgarden's Matt Cameron On Recording Without Pressure

Check out an album review at Loudwire and Rolling Stone

Read more about Soundgarden live on "Letterman" at Loudwire and check out performance footage at Blabbermouth, Loudwire and Rolling Stone

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce