Music News



Keith Richards has scaled back his drinking. Richards, who'll turn 69 in December, took up Jack Daniels after kicking heroin in the late-'70s, eventually moved to Stoli and Sunkist, and now maintains that he keeps things on the lighter side these days. Richards told Rolling Stone, "I don't get ridiculous. I like a glass of wine with my meal and everything, but I've given up sort of waking up and having a drink, y'know? I gave up smack, I can give up anything. No big deal to me, I do it to impress other people. But if they come up with a great new drug, I'll be the first one on it, believe me."


Ron Wood, who has successfully battled back against years of heavy alcoholism, says that despite not being quite a teetotaler, Richards' staying straight most of the time is definitely evident in his guitar work: "Keith is a pleasure to play with now. It was a pain on the last tour toward the end, because he was really going for it on the drinking and denial. But now he's realized that he has gotta look after himself. . . I'm not going to preach to him. I will step in if I see any danger."

  • In the "Ask Keith" portion of his website, (, Richards was asked to name something he's only tried once: "What was that elephant tranquilizer called? (Laughs) I tried it once and God help the elephants (laughs)."
  • The Rolling Stones tour dates (subject to change): November 25, 29 - London, England - The O2 London December 13, 15 - Newark, NJ - Prudential Center


  • The Rolling Stones have just released their latest archival live collection as part of their ongoing "official" bootleg series via Google Play. The new 15-track set -- Light The Fuse: Toronto 2005 -- captures the band's August 10th 2005 pre-show rehearsal gig at the Toronto club, The Phoenix.
  • In addition to trying out newer tunes from the then-recent A Bigger Bang collection, the Stones tear through such classics as "Live With Me," "She's So Cold," "Dead Flowers" -- along with a slow groove re-arranged version of "19th Nervous Breakdown," and covers of Bob Marley and Peter Tosh's "Get Up, Stand Up," and Otis Redding's "Mr. Pitiful."
  • The tracklisting for Light The Fuse: Toronto 2005 is: "Rough Justice," "Live With Me," "19th Nervous Breakdown," "She's So Cold," "Dead Flowers," "Back Of My Hand," "Ain't Too Proud To Beg," Band Introductions, "Infamy," "Oh No, Not You Again," "Get Up, Stand Up," "Mr. Pitiful," "Tumbling Dice," "Brown Sugar," and "Jumping Jack Flash."

CHECK IT OUT: An early version of the Stones' 1967 classic "Dandelion" with Keith Richards on vocals:

Keith Richards On Taking Elephant Tranquilizer

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce