Music News



Jimmy Page confirmed that he's remastering all nine Led Zeppelin albums, with each set being readied as deluxe, expanded editions featuring, "extra music and bonus material," according to NME. Page, who produced all of Led Zeppelin's live and studio albums, has served as the band's chief archivist and personally oversaw the remastering of the band's catalogue back in the nearly '90s.


In Page's new interview with Mojo magazine, he explained, "There are a number of Led Zeppelin projects that will come out next year because there are different versions of tracks that we have that can be added to the album so there will be box sets of material that will come out, starting next year. There will be one box set per album with extra music that will surface."

  • There has been no release date set for the box sets and it's not known whether the albums will be released at once or staggered, as was done by Pink Floyd for their deluxe "Immersion" collections.
  • Peter Frampton told us that there are few people around that understand how to truly harness the power of a recording studio like Led Zeppelin did: "Jimmy is an orchestrator. That's what I see with him , most of all. See, I did sessions with for John Paul Jones as an MD (Musical Director) for producers before Led Zeppelin, or even while they were getting together. So, you're talking about one of the top musical directors of rock stuff for sessions in London, being John Paul Jones and then you're talking about the top session player way back to the early, mid-'60s, I think."


  • Coming on November 19th will be Led Zeppelin's new live collection, Celebration Day, which was recorded and filmed at Zeppelin's December 10th, 2007 reunion show at London's O2 Arena. The concert film will be released on CD, DVD, Blu-ray disc through Swan Song/Atlantic Records.
  • The tracklisting to Led Zeppelin's Celebration Day is: "Good Times, Bad Times," "Ramble On," "Black Dog," "In My Time Of Dying," "For Your Life," "Trampled Underfoot," "Nobody's Fault But Mine," "No Quarter," "Since I've Been Lovin' You," "Dazed And Confused," "Stairway To Heaven," "The Song Remains The Same," "Misty Mountain Hop," "Kashmir," "Whole Lotta Love," and "Rock And Roll."


  • We love this idea -- the more the better!!! With the realities of illegal downloads and the ease of iTunes, it's nice to get a little something extra by going out and buying physical product.
  • As long as the music isn't remastered to the point that it's excruciatingly loud -- bring on the remasters, bring on the extras, there's a huge market for any and all new music and footage.
  • BUT: These classic bands -- and more specifically their labels -- are reissuing some of these albums for the fourth or fifth time. Back in '86, '87, '88 when all this stuff first came out on CD, they made a KILLING -- on average $17 on albums that weren't remastered for compact disc, with lousy -- or non-existent -- artwork. They made ANOTHER $17 the SECOND time you bought it, too.
  • The point is, is these labels and artists are going to jack up the price for stuff the public already has bought several times over or has on bootleg. They better play it smart and not out-price the audience.
  • If this is the last go 'round for physical product -- they better keep it affordable and make sure the content is as rare as it is plentiful.

CHECK IT OUT: Led Zeppelin performing "Kashmir" from Celebration Day:

Peter Frampton On Jimmy Page And John Paul Jones' Pre-Led Zeppelin Session Days

Read more at Blabbermouth and Ultimate Classic Rock

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce