Music News



George Harrison's widow Olivia is pleased that fans will get a deeper look at the former Beatle's work with the new digital multi-touch book, Living In The Material World. Last fall, the print edition wowed fans with its treasure trove of Harrison's personal letters and photos, but the version now available on iBookstore features "audio, (and) video material from the film along with personal photographs, letters, and memorabilia never seen by the public."


Olivia told The Associated Press that she's grateful that the technology in the multi-touch book can expand on Martin Scorsese's documentary, which took a different course than just a straight ahead biography: "Marty chose the music for the narrative and it drives the story. I think he fit the music perfectly in there, but there's was a point when I realized, 'Oh wow, we're not going to get past 1975.'"

  • She touched upon the fact that neither "Taxman" -- arguably Harrison first Beatles-era classic -- and his 1987 comeback album, Cloud Nine, were represented in the Living In The Material World doc, saying, "It was clear, pretty quickly, that we could not fit everything. When comparing the Harrison project to Scorsese's previous major doc, the 2005 Bob Dylan chronicle, No Direction Home, she admitted that viewers got more of Harrison's life than Dylan's, explaining, "You know, that documentary ends in 1966. That's it. And you know the volume of music that Bob has produced since then. Both are three-plus hour movies, yet this one covers a bigger span of George's life."
  • Although 1970's All Things Must Pass, 1971's The Concert For Bangladesh and 1973's Living In The Material World album found Harrison at his most critically acclaimed and in the hottest period of his solo career, as the '70s progressed, musically, he felt more and more like a cultural outsider: "Well, y'see what I always felt, that if I'm me, and I make this kind of music, its wrong if I should try to fashion my songs or my music to suit a market. I think that kind of thing was happening in the '70s. Everybody, it was like: 'You got to do this kind of song, otherwise we can't get you on the radio.' That's when I decided, 'Ah, I'm getting out of here.'"


  • Out now is the DVD and Blu-ray of Martin Scorsese's George Harrison documentary, Living In The Material World. The three-and-a-half hour life-spanning documentary includes interviews with Harrison's widow and son Olivia and Dhani Harrison, his brothers Harry and the late Pete Harrison, Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, George Martin, Eric Clapton, first wife Pattie Boyd, Yoko Ono, Phil Spector, Jeff Lynne, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Tom Petty, and Jackie Stewart, among others.
  • Also available in the package -- and sold separately -- is Early Takes, Volume 1 - George Harrison. The majority of songs on 10-track CD are either demos or early alternate takes of tracks from his 1970 album, All Things Must Pass. Highlights also include a demo version of Bob Dylan's "Mama You've Been On My Mind" and the Everly Brothers' "Let It Be Me" -- as well as early versions of such post-Beatles classics as "All Things Must Past," "My Sweet Lord," "Awaiting On You All," along with the Dylan co-write, "I'd Have You Anytime."


  • In 1971, George Harrison produced Ringo Starr's initial solo singles "It Don't Come Easy" and "Back Off Boogaloo," as well also co-writing Starr's first Number One hit "Photograph" with him in 1973.

CHECK IT OUT: George Harrison, Leon Russell, Eric Clapton, Ringo Starr, Billy Preston, Jim Keltner, and Klaus Voormann at the Bangladesh soundcheck on August 1st, 1971 jamming on "Come On In My Kitchen":

 George Harrison On Being Honest In His Art

Read more at Ultimate Classic Rock

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce