Music News



This summer has shaped up to be a great one for Doobie Brothers fans, with both the band on tour and Michael McDonald on the road with good friend Boz Scaggs -- not to mention the CD/DVD vault release of the band's "farewell" gig -- The Doobie Brothers Live At The Greek Theatre 1982.


Although Michael McDonald has never permanently joined back up with the Doobies following their initial 1987 mini-reunion tour, he says he still loves his former bandmates deeply: "I take a certain amount of pride that we had our share of band disputes, y'know, throwing furniture at each other backstage, and all that (like) bands do -- y'know, in the crazy days. But it was always important to remember that we were friends first and I think that's what we've walked away with. It's probably more valuable than 10-times greater success monetarily or record sales-wise. We really, y'know, got through it, intact as friends, y'know? And I think we all kind of hang on to that with a. . . put a certain amount of value on that."

  • Michael McDonald appears on the recent Doobies album, World Gone Crazy, singing backup on the song "Don't Say Goodbye."
  • The Doobie Brothers perform on Thursday (July 28th) Westport, Connecticut's Levitt Pavilion.

  • Michael McDonald and Boz Scaggs tour dates (subject to change):
    July 27 - Clarkston, MI - DTE Energy Music Theatre
    September 16 - Jacksonville, OR - Britt Festival at Britt Pavilion
    September 17 - Goldendale, WA - Maryhill Winery Amphitheater
    September 18 - Eagle, ID - Eagle Park Pavilion
    September 20 - Puyallup, WA - Western Washington Fairgrounds (only Michael McDonald)
    September 22 - Saratoga, CA - The Mountain Winery
    September 26 - San Diego, CA - Humphrey's Concerts By The Bay
    October 6 - Wichita, KS - Hartman Arena


  • Out now on CD/DVD is The Doobie Brothers Live At The Greek Theatre 1982. The concert, recorded during the band's farewell tour, featured the final Doobies touring lineup of Pat Simmons, Michael McDonald, Keith Knudson, John McFee, Cornelius Bumpus, Chet McCracken, bassist Willie Weeks, and Bob LaKind. Joining the band were then-former Doobies John Hartman, Tiran Porter, Michael Hossack -- as well as former guitarist and leader Tom Johnston.
  • The show marked the band's final show for five years, and the material was originally released in 1983 as the album, Farewell Tour.
  • The CD tracklisting to The Doobie Brothers Live At The Greek Theatre 1982 is: "Listen To The Music, "Sweet Maxine," "Rockin' Down The Highway," "You Belong To Me," "Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me)," "Long Train Runnin'," "Black Water," "Minute By Minute," "Slat Key Soquel Rag," "Out On The Streets," "What A Fool Believes," "Jesus Is Just Alright," "Takin' It To The Streets," "China Grove," "Listen To The Music," "Little Darling (I Need You)," "One Step Closer," "Dependin' On You," and "Real Love."

CHECK IT OUT: The Doobies performing "What A Fool Believes" at their 1982 Farewell concert:

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce