Music News



My Chemical Romance may be gone, but singer Gerard Way is finding other means to keep the band's legacy alive. Way, who is also an award-winning comic book writer, will publish a graphic novel based on the band's final album, 2010's Danger Days: The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys. A free preview of the book will be given away at comic book stores on May 4th, Free Comic Book Day. Although the book has a U.K. publication date of June 16th, a U.S. street date has yet to be confirmed.


  • The book reportedly centers on the Killjoys fighting against the tyrannical mega-corporation Better Living Industries. Most of them die, except for one mysterious girl who goes on a mission to take down the company.
  • Way told us at the time of the album's release that the Danger Days record was inspired by the comic and not vice versa: "This comic idea had come first, called The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys, that I was working on with my friend Shaun Simon, and that was kind of I guess the first seed. But everything I wanted to say in that comic is what I ended up saying on Danger Days as well, so the projects felt like they were brother and sister."
  • Way's previous comic book series, The Umbrella Academy, won an Eisner Award -- the comics industry's highest honor.
  • My Chemical Romance announced its break-up one week ago on March 22nd, with Way posting more than 2,000 words on the subject the next day.
  • Although the reasons for the split remain vague, Way wrote. "I can assure you there was no divorce, argument, failure, accident, villain, or knife in the back that caused this, again this was no one's fault, and it had been quietly in the works, whether we knew it or not, long before any sensationalism, scandal, or rumor."

CHECK IT OUT: Take a look at various pieces of artwork from The Umbrella Academy at

My Chemical Romance's Gerard Way Says Comic Book Inspired New Album

Read more at NME

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel

New Releases

CD Releases
see more
  • Kataklysm
    Nuclear Blast
  • Teenage Time K..
    Rise Records
  • Dragonforce