Tribute LP Celebrates Ronnie James Dio

Metallica, Halestorm, Slipknot/Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor and Motorhead are among those featured on "This Is Your Life," a tribute album to the late Ronnie James Dio.

Most of the 14 tracks on the set are previously unreleased, including Metallica's "Ronnie Rising Medley" of "A Light in the Black," "Tarot Woman," "Stargazer" and "Kill The King," the Taylor-fronted take on "Rainbow in the Dark," Halestorm's "Straight Through the Heart," Anthrax's "Neon Night," "Tenacious D's" "The Last in Line" and an all-star "Man on the Silver Mountain" with Judas Priest's Rob Halford and members of Dokken, Foreigner and Whitesnake.

The album ends with a stark rendition of Dio's own "This Is Your LIfe," originally from his 1996 album "Angry Machines," accompanied only by piano.

"This Is Your Life" was produced by Dio's widow and manager Wendy, with proceeds going to the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund.

The full track list for the tribute includes:

  1. “Neon Knights” – Anthrax*
  2. “The Last In Line” – Tenacious D*
  3. “The Mob Rules” – Adrenaline Mob
  4. “Rainbow In The Dark” – Corey Taylor, Roy Mayorga, Satchel, Christian Martucci, Jason Christopher*
  5. “Straight Through The Heart” – Halestorm*
  6. “Starstruck” – Motörhead with Biff Byford*
  7. “The Temple Of The King” – Scorpions*
  8. “Egypt (The Chains Are On)” – Doro
  9. “Holy Diver” – Killswitch Engage
  10. “Catch The Rainbow” – Glenn Hughes, Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Scott Warren*
  11. “I” – Oni Logan, Jimmy Bain, Rowan Robertson, Brian Tichy*
  12. “Man On The Silver Mountain” – Rob Halford, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich, Jeff Pilson, Scott Warren*
  13. “Ronnie Rising Medley (Featuring A Light In The Black, Tarot Woman, Stargazer, Kill The King)” – Metallica*
  14. “This Is Your Life” – Dio

* Previously unreleased

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.